Rebuilding the Agrigento – Trapani railway with the Recovery Plan: the appeal of mayors and associations

The bodies and associations signing this public letter, through it, ask MIT and the Sicilian Region to include the proposal for the design and construction of a new and modern railway between Agrigento and Trapani within the National Plan for Rebirth and Resilience and using the measures provided for in the Recovery Plan or, in any case, to plan its reconstruction. The provinces of Agrigento and Trapani are the only two in Italy not connected to each other by the railway network. Until 1985 a narrow gauge line was active that connected the two centers, which was suspended with the promise, by the competent authorities, of its transformation to normal gauge.

Reconstruction, unfortunately, never carried out, indeed: with the ministerial decree n. 08T of 14 March 2004 issued by the Minister of Infrastructure and Transport, the old railway was definitively abolished and, even today, it is in the process of being sold. Furthermore, considering that the latest European directives on transport indicate that by 2030, 30% of road transport to pass by rail, Sicily and in particular the provinces of Agrigento and Trapani cannot miss this opportunity for economic and tourist development .

The mayors, the signatory bodies and associations propose the realization of a new ordinary gauge railway line that connects the centers of Agrigento, Realmonte / Siculiana, Montallegro / Cattolica, Ribera, Sciacca and Menfi with Castelvetrano and therefore the city of Trapani, following a coastal path and reusing, where possible, portions of existing railway infrastructures, especially the tunnels, in order to reduce the costs of the work and recover works of art now abandoned to decay. The associations also ask the Deputations of Agrigento and Trapani to interpret the request coming from the territory and promote all the necessary actions for its acceptance.

Committee for the Railway – Agrigento – Trapani – (FB: @ComitatoFerroviaAGTP)

They sign and adhere to the public letter:

Municipality of Agrigento – Mayor Francesco Miccichè

Municipality of Sciacca – Mayor Francesca Valenti

Municipality of Ribera – Mayor Matteo Ruvolo

Municipality of Menfi – Mayor Marilena Mauceri

Municipality of Montallegro – Deputy Mayor Salvatore Iatì

Municipality of Realmonte – Mayor Sabrina Lattuca

Municipality of Siculiana – Mayor Giuseppe Zambiente

Association TRENODOC Palermo – the President Daniele Fucarino

Association Kaos Railways – Agrigento – The President Mauro Indelicato

Association Sicilian Railways – Messina – The President Roberto Copia

Italian Environment Fund – The head of the delegation from Agrigento Giuseppe Taibi

Italian Environment Fund – The head of the Trapani delegation Nicola Adragna

Legambiente Sicily – President Gianfranco Zanna

Legambiente Rabat club – Agrigento – the President Daniele Gucciardo

Legambiente “Nautilus” club Trapani-Erice – President Enzo Benigno Martinez

Legambiente Valle del Belice Salaparuta – President Valentina Caradonna

Legambiente Circolo Marsala – President Letizia Pipitone;

Legambiente Circolo Fata Morgana Mazara del Vallo – President Francesco Sferlazzo;

Legambiente “Crìmiso” Castelvetrano – President Giuseppe Salluzzo

Sicily Region Administrators Committee – the Secretary Gianfranco Gentile

Order of Architects of Agrigento – President Alfonso Cimino

CGIL Agrigento – The Provincial Secretary Alfonso Buscemi

CISL Agrigento – Caltanissetta – Enna – The Secretary Emanuele Piraino

UIL Agrigento – The provincial secretary Gero Purchase;

WWF Sicily Mediterranean Area ODV – President Giuseppe Mazzotta;

Maria Iacono – former member of the chamber

LegaCOOP Western SicilyDomenico Pistone

Confcommercio – Agrigento – The President Alfonso Valenza;

Naval League section Sciacca – President Aldo Rossi

AEL Association – Agrigento – The President Calogero Grova

Association MOBILITY – Palermo – President Giulio Di Chiara

Association Archeoclub the places of Empedocle – President Angela Roberto

Association Mariterra – Porto Empedocle – The President Erika Zoppo

Association OltreVigata – Porto Empedocle – The President Danilo Verruso

Association Agrigento Trekking – President Marco Falzone

Association VISIT Agrigento – President Marcello Mira

Association VAL DI KAM – Manager Pierfilippo Spoto

Association Pro Loco of Agrigento – President Christian Vassallo

Association The Other Sciacca – President Pietro Mistretta;

Association Italia Nostra Sciacca – President Umberto Marsala

Association Stop the platform Sciacca – President Mario Di Giovanna

This post is also available in: English