10 Blue Flags in Sicily, none in the province of Trapani

There is no San Vito Lo Capo, there are no Egadi islands. There is no Pantelleria, nor Scopello.

The province of Trapani remains dry for the Blue Flags 2021.

Sicily in total rises to 10 with two new entries which are Modica and Roccalumera.

Blue flags in Sicily
In the province of Messina: Alì Terme, Roccalumera, Santa Teresa di Riva, Lipari, Tusa. In the province of Agrigento: Menfi. In the province of Ragusa: Modica, Ispica, Pozzallo, Ragusa itself.

The Blue Flags are awarded to the island by the Foundation for Environmental Education (Fee), an international NGO that gives the prestigious recognition on the basis of specific parameters: sea as an “excellent” result in the last four years, efficiency of waste water purification and sewerage , separate waste collection, large pedestrian areas, cycle paths, well-kept street furniture, green areas.